Unclear Clarity

Image

After thoroughly enjoying starting a blog, it became unclear as to why my hips were hurting. The only answer I could come up with was my hips were not familiar to this sit down time. Is it my age? My damn dystrophy? Even though I have never had sit down problems before? One day they hurt, the next they don’t. Stretches, easy exercises, support pillows while sleeping – always seem to help. It’s unclear why it keeps coming back. So, I just keep doing the routine that seems to make them better.. for a time.

This brought up something else that seems to be unclear to me. As funny as this may sound, lately it has gotten a bit out of control – auto-correct. On my phone.  On my tablet.  These electronics were to be smart, right?? Over and over I see the changing of a word, maybe even several words in my sentence due to auto-correct, which I now will be happy to call:  auto-(in)correct. It does not seem to matter if I am asked to add the word to the dictionary. It’s not as if it is in there the next time I try to type it. Where did it go? Did not ask for auto-(in)correct to assist me in my spelling, or in my sentences. It is great to suggest to me a spelling of a word when spelled wrong, but that is not what auto-(in)correct is doing. The more I spell a word auto-(in)correct does not understand, does not have in the auto-(in)correct dictionary, well… it auto changes what I type. This rereading every time I type a word is now beyond frustrating, and I seem to still not catch them all. Sneaky little thing. Am seeing so many postings with auto-(in)correct errors, it actually becomes a bit difficult to understand some posts. Give me a built-in dictionary, I applaud you. Suggest to me a spelling if I spell incorrectly, that’s great!  But when I am trying to use my own good words to clarify… stop changing them! Very unclear as to why this can’t be fixed. And where, oh, where.. did these dictionaries come from? A dictionary is used to clarify meaning, not to change the word because it can not be found.

Here is one of my biggest areas of unclear clarity. It is typical on weekends that I get caught up on my news and politics of the past week via television, as it should be the easy way to gain the news. There are two areas of unclear clarity. Let me use a dictionary to define what news means.  News –  noun  1) a report of a recent event; intelligence; information  2) the presentation of a report on recent or new events in a newspaper or other periodical or on radio or television. This means to me, it is a report of facts deemed newsworthy. But what I seem to be getting is opinion, shaped and reshaped to fit what ever media corporation’s view’s and agenda are, and what the commentator wants to throw in there. Unclear clarity. This leaves me to scramble to other sources to find out what is true and not true. It does not seem that facts matter, not to the media corporations or many who are reporting “news”.  Just like the auto-(in)correct, forcing words where I do not want them, do not need them, did not ask for them to be there… the media is doing the same. Telling me what I should be very capable of deciding on my own. There are plenty of “opinionated” news programs out there. I know where they are if that’s what I am looking for.

Oh, while I am on the topic, a quick address of the use of acronyms in communication. Have read so many acronyms used online that I had absolutely no clue what they meant, I stopped using the few common ones I knew. That might be “uncool” in the world of chat or text messaging, or in posts or maybe even blogs.  I do not care. I do not want to be cool. I do not want to be unclear in my clarity, in trying to communicate. What is the point? Saving time? Each topic I discuss in this blog is costing more and more time just to get to the understanding of something that should be quick and easy. It’s just not fun to invest time and be unclear about what you just read or listened to. No fun at all.

This brings me to my last topic, the loss of a great actor and human being this weekend, Phillip Seymour Hoffman. It still is hard to grasp for me. So much joy in witnessing what I think is really one of the greatest character actors of all time. I wish the world could have been kinder to you, Mr. Hoffman. You gave us so very much. Your expression of words, of emotion, was far beyond the typical roll. Far beyond ordinary or even good. It was superb. It was my honor to witness your craft, you will be very missed. Very missed. Rest in beautiful peace.

“The only true currency in this bankrupt world, is what you share with someone when you’re uncool..”  Phillip Seymour Hoffman

About Leslie Kay

Life and RSD warrior, sarcoidosis fighter and new blogger enthusiast. Lover of... a great cup of coffee. Let's tell stories. Born in Saginaw, MI USA but raised in Lincoln, NE and Norman, OK. Have lived and worked in many states, including Florida and North Carolina. Currently reside in Texas, USA Attended the University of Oklahoma, and have worked for hospital's as a nurse tech and pharmacy tech. Medical waste field as inside and outside sales of bio-hazardous waste disposal. Am a daughter, a sister, a niece, an aunt, a friend, a good neighbor. A true lover of life and animals.Spiritual.Devoted. Love nature. Adore the ocean. Like to consider myself somewhat of an activist in today's very confusing political times. A champion of RSD/CRPS and related causes, and those effected by this disease.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

